top of page

IMO Status

Brisbane Girls Grammar School is recognised as the IYPT Member Organization (IMO) for Australia in accordance with Article 7, Section 1 of the Statutes of the International Young Physicists’ Tournament (IYPT).


Mr Alan Allinson

IYPT Australia IOC Member 

IOC Member for Australia

Honorary President IYPT

President IYPT 2008 to 2015

Head of Physics

Brisbane Girls Grammar School

Gregory Terrace, Brisbane, QLD 4000 



We declare that we will respect and comply with the Statutes and the Regulations of IYPT. In particular, we agree to implement an IYPT qualification procedure, which shall be open to all students/teams from the country we represent. This qualification procedure shall be organized as a non-profit event.


Brisbane Girls Grammar School developed the IYPT Australia Challenge as annual qualifying tournament open to all schools in Australia. The School hosted the competition up until 2010. The 9th IYPT Australia Challenge was held on the Gold Coast, Queensland during 2012 and the 10th IYPT Australia Challenge was hosted in Melbourne, Victoria in March 2013. The 11th and 12th IYPT Australia Challenges were held at Brisbane Grammar School and the 13th IYPT Australia Challenge was held in Western Australia.

The 14th, was held in December 2017 at Brisbane Girls Grammar School and the 15th and 16th IYPT Australia Challenges will also return to Brisbane Girls Grammar School.


Into the future, we will continue coordinate the organization of the event and seek to stimulate greater involvement across Australia.  The tournament will be either hosted by different schools around Australia or at Brisbane Girls Grammar School.


Schools from six States and Territories of Australia have competed at the IYPT Australia Challenge and the Australian Team at IYPT has been formed from students from many schools.

bottom of page